We have updated our Online Services Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. See our Cookies Notice for information concerning our use of cookies and similar technologies. By using this website or clicking “I ACCEPT”, you consent to our Online Services Terms of Use.

University Hospitals Neurological Institute Winter 2022 Update


Innovations in Neurology & Neurological Surgery | Winter 2022

Nicholas C. Bambakidis, MD, was recently appointed Chair of the Department of Neurosurgery at University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center. He will continue to serve as Vice President and Director of the University Hospitals Neurological Institute, roles he has held since 2016. Dr. Bambakidis also holds the Warren R. Selman Endowed Chair in Neurological Surgery, named in honor of Dr. Selman, who stepped down from the role at the end of 2021.

Nicholas Bambakidis, MD
Nicholas C. Bambakidis, MD

Dr. Bambakidis is internationally recognized for advancing cerebrovascular and skull base surgery and research. Additionally, he is serving a one-year term as President of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons, the world’s largest neurosurgical organization with more than 10,000 members.

Warren R. Selman, MD, chaired the department from 2005 to 2021 and was the inaugural Director of the UH Neurological Institute. A passionate teacher and researcher, Dr. Selman is an expert in cerebrovascular and pituitary surgery and is currently studying the role of mixed reality in neurosurgical education. Additionally, he is President of the Society of Neurological Surgeons, the world’s oldest neurosurgical society.

“It is a great honor to follow in the footsteps of Dr. Selman,” Dr. Bambakidis says. “His legacy epitomizes our dedication to the mission of advancing neurosurgical care, research and education.”

Stroke care certification

Several hospitals within the University Hospitals system have been recognized by the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association’s (AHA/ASA) Get With The Guidelines® – Stroke Quality Achievement Awards for their quality stroke care.

The awards recognize healthcare professionals who provide the most up-to-date care based on current research and guidelines for treating stroke patients. Fourteen UH hospitals earned awards for quality stroke care, with seven earning a higher level of recognition than the previous year.

Additionally, the AHA/ASA and the Joint Commission (JCAHO) recently renewed comprehensive stroke certification at University Hospitals.

“The two-year accreditation recognizes the excellent stroke care that we provide patients throughout our system on a daily basis,” Dr. Bambakidis says.

Nationally recognized leadership

University Hospitals is nationally ranked as a top hospital in five adult and eight pediatric specialties.

“We continue to be recognized nationally as leaders in the care of patients with neurologic and neurosurgical disorders, and this is reflected in our continued high ranking in U.S. News & World Report,” Dr. Bambakidis notes.

Fellowship accreditation

The neurosurgery department recently had fellowships accredited by the Society of Neurologic Surgeons:

  • Spine
  • Functional neurosurgery
  • Endovascular neurosurgery
  • Neurocritical care

Welcome new neurologists

As the UH Neurological Institute continues to pursue a robust recruiting initiative, colleagues welcome these esteemed physicians to University Hospitals:

Recognitions and Awards

University Hospitals recently named 45 clinicians as Distinguished Physicians in recognition of their exceptional clinical skills and dedication to patient care. Physicians from the UH Neurology Institute include:



“As a group, these physicians provide such extraordinary care that their colleagues turn to them to care for their loved ones and themselves," says Cliff Megerian, MD, FACS, Chief Executive Officer of University Hospitals.

On Nov. 5, 2021, Michael Devereaux, MD, and Hans O. Luders, MD, PhD received the Epilepsy Association Legacy Award for individuals who have shown support and advocacy efforts on behalf of and to the Epilepsy Association and delivered outstanding support to those affected by epilepsy in Northeast Ohio.

On Sept. 18, 2021, Hesham Abboud, MD, received the EUROIMMUN Service Award: Most Impactful Physician in Autoimmune Encephalitis.

Research innovation

The UH Neurological Institute has multiple active clinical trials under way and continues to be a national leader in recruiting patients following aneurysmal subarachnoid hemorrhage for the REACT trial.

The Phase 3 Trial assesses the efficacy and safety of the drug Clazosentan in preventing deterioration due to delayed cerebral ischemia in adults following aneurysm. University Hospitals is one of two health care systems in Ohio participating in the multisite National Institutes of Health-funded trial.

For more information, contact Dr. Bambakidis at Nicholas.Bambakidis2@UHhospitals.org.

Contributing Expert:
Nicholas C. Bambakidis, MD
Chair of the Department of Neurological Surgery
Vice President and Director, University Hospitals Neurological Institute
Warren R. Selman Endowed Chair in Neurological Surgery
University Hospitals
Professor of Neurological Surgery
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine