General Surgery Residency Faculty

General Surgery Residency Faculty

Our faculty includes top surgical professionals, providing high-quality patient care integrated with clinical and basic science research and intensive teaching at all levels. Every surgical discipline is covered across the Department of Surgery at our primary teaching institutions:

  • UH Cleveland Medical Center
  • Louis B. Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center
  • UH Geauga Medical Center
  • UH St. John Medical Center

Our leaders are trained in a variety of specialties and continue to present and publish some of the best international clinical outcomes. Faculty members are approachable and eager to take part in the education of the next generation of world-class surgeons.

University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center


Cardiac Surgery

Colorectal Surgery

General and Gastrointestinal Surgery

Surgical Oncology

Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Pediatric Surgery

Thoracic Surgery

Transplant Surgery

Trauma Surgery

Vascular Surgery

Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center

Chief of Surgical Services

  • Jessie Jean-Claude, MD

Cardiothoracic Surgery

  • Brian Cmolik, MD
  • Yakov Elgudin, MD
  • Joseph Rubelowsky, MD

General Surgery

  • Eric Marderstein, MD - Section Chief
  • Katherine Kelly, MD
  • Amy McDonald, MD
  • Christopher Siegel, MD
  • Thomas Stellato, MD
  • Ray Wong, MD

Vascular Surgery

  • Gilles Pinault, MD - Section Chief
  • Lleowell Garcia, MD
  • Jonathan Kwong, MD
  • Michael Rosenbaum, MD

University Hospitals Geauga Medical Center

  • Christopher Bohac, MD
  • Maria Madden, MD
  • Jacob Petroskey, MD
  • Liming Yu, MD

University Hospitals Ahuja Medical Center

  • John Jasper, MD
  • Jeffrey Parks, MD

University Hospitals St. John Medical Center

  • Mary Freyvogel, DO
  • Daanish Kazi, DO
  • Michael Liu, MD
  • Ashley Simpson, DO