Reduced Cost Car Seats Available for Qualifying Families

University Hospitals Rainbow Babies & Children’s Hospital Injury Prevention Center is dedicated to protecting child passengers throughout Northeast Ohio by aiding parents and caregivers in making important decisions about how best to restrain their child passengers, providing assistance with properly using and installing car seats, and working to ensure that all families – regardless of their financial circumstances – have access to the resources they need to help their children travel safely.

The Rainbow Injury Prevention Center is able to assist low income families by providing car seats at a cost significantly discounted from retail prices, together with education in installing and using the seats. Proof of government assistance (WIC, HEAP, CHIP, Food Stamps, etc.) is required.

Call the Rainbow Car Seat Hotline at 216-844-2277 to receive registration information.

Additionally, UH Rainbow Babies & Children’s Hospital serves as the regional coordinator for the Ohio Buckles Buckeyes (OBB) program. Periodically throughout the year, the hospital receives free seats from the Ohio Department of Health that are distributed on a first come-first served basis to program participants. For more information on the Ohio Buckles Buckeyes program, visit https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/child-injury-Prevention/media/regional-coord.

Contact information for local coordinators for the OBB programs in our region is listed below:

County Contact Name & Agency Phone Email
Ashland Vacant 419-774-4761 n/a
Cuyahoga Heidi Dolan, UH Rainbow Babies & Children’s Hospital 216-844-2277 Heidi.Dolan@UHhospitals.org
Erie Amber Butts, Erie County Health Dept. 419-626-5623 ext. 5113 AButts@echdohio.org
Geauga Magaly Rios, Geauga Public Health 440-279-1939 mgrios@geaugacountyhealth.org
Huron Chris Cherry, Huron County Public Health 419-668-1652 ext. 230 ccherry@huroncohealth.com
Lake Naomi Cicon, Lake County Health Dept. 440-350-2970 ncicon@lcghd.org
Lorain Katie Bevan, Lorain County Public Health 440-322-6367 kbevan@loraincountyhealth.com
Medina Amy Lesak, Medina County Health Dept. 330-723-9688, Option 5 alesak@medinahealth.org
Richland Shannon Nelson, Richland Public Health 419-774-4761 snelson@richlandhealth.org
Wayne Hannah Kochis, Community Action Wayne 330-723-2229 hkochis@cawm.org