Mukesh K. Jain, MD, FAHA

Mukesh Jain, MD
Mukesh K. Jain, MD, FAHA: Chief Academic Officer

Mukesh K. Jain, MD, FAHA, is Chief Academic Officer, University Hospitals Health System; Chief Scientific Officer, Harrington Discovery Institute, Chief Research Officer, University Hospitals Harrington Heart & Vascular Institute; the Ellery Sedgwick Jr. Chair & Distinguished Scientist, Vice Dean for University Hospitals Affairs, Professor of Medicine, and Distinguished University Professor, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine; Visiting Professor, University of Oxford, UK.

Dr. Jain is recognized for discovery of Krüppel-like family of transcription factors (KLFs) as nodal factors controlling the coordinate regulation and functionality of the hemovascular and metabolic systems. This work has been published in top-tier journals and resulted in robust and sustained funding as well as numerous speaking engagements around the globe. Beyond his own research contributions, he also is promoting the translation of fundamental discovery into medicines across North America and the United Kingdom (partnership with University of Oxford) through his role as Chief Scientific Officer of the Harrington Discovery Institute.

Dr. Jain is deeply committed to education and training. Nearly 3 dozen of his mentees grace the faculty of leading academic institution around the globe. He co-founded the Physician-Scientist Support Foundation that seeks innovative solutions to rejuvenate the physician-scientist pipeline. And he is former President of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, one of the nation’s oldest medical organizations that seeks to support the scientific efforts, educational needs, and clinical aspirations of physician-scientists to impact human health.

Dr. Jain’s academic contributions are recognized by numerous awards and honors including election to the National Academy of Medicine, the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI), American Association of Physicians (AAP), and Association University Cardiologists (AUC). He is recipient of mentorship awards from Harvard Medical School and University Hospitals.