Anesthesiology – Critical Care Medicine Combined Program

The Anesthesiology – Critical Care Medicine Program is available to any applicant interested in both Anesthesiology and Critical Care training.  The five-year program offers one ACGME accredited position each year and is specifically targeted towards applicants who are interested in pursuing a career as an anesthesiology-trained intensivist.  Prior to fellowship training in critical care, a traditional Clinical Base year and Clinical Anesthesia years CA-1 through CA-3 are completed. Traditional Critical Care Fellowship rotations are divided between the CA-3 and CA-4 years of training.  Once the program is successfully completed, trainees are eligible for board certification through The American Board Anesthesiology for both anesthesiology and critical care medicine.

Critical Care Medicine rotations are offered in a variety of intensive care units and other specialized departments.  Rotations include, but are not limited to, are:

  • Surgical Intensive Care Unit
  • Cardiothoracic Intensive Care Unit
  • Neurological Intensive Care Unit
  • Trauma Intensive Care Unit
  • Infectious Disease
  • Transfusion & Perfusion
  • Heart Failure Intensive Care Unit
  • Community Intensive Care Unit
  • Nephrology
  • Quality & Research
Back to Top