Loading Results
We have updated our Online Services Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. See our Cookies Notice for information concerning our use of cookies and similar technologies. By using this website or clicking “I ACCEPT”, you consent to our Online Services Terms of Use.

Awards and Recognitions of Note Received by UH Alumni


During the Case Western Reserve University Fall Convocation 2021 program Mukesh Jain, MD, was honored as one of the 2021 four new Distinguished University Professors. Recipients of the university’s highest faculty honor for their renown in all aspects of their academic work—as well as their outstanding service to Case Western Reserve University. Dr. Jain is professor in the School of Medicine’s Departments of Medicine and Physiology and Biophysics and the Cardiovascular Research Institute, a member of Case Comprehensive Cancer Center’s Developmental Therapeutics Program, as well as Chief Academic Officer, University Hospitals.


Susan Hatters-Friedman, MD | Director of the Forensic Psychiatry Program at University Hospitals, received The Manfred S. Guttmacher Award from the American Psychiatric Association (APA) and American Academy of Forensic Psychiatry. The award was established in 1975 and recognizes an outstanding contribution to the literature of forensic psychiatry. Her award is for publication (as editor) of the book Family Murder: Pathologies of Love and Hate, which was written by the Group for the Advancement of Psychiatry’s Committee on Psychiatry & Law. Dr. Hatters-Friedman is also the inaugural recipient of the Philip J. Resnick Professorship in Forensic Psychiatry at CWRU. Dr. Resnick was the founding member of the Forensic Psychiatry program here, and is widely recognized as one of the leading forensic psychiatrists in the world. He retired in 2018 and was succeeded by Dr. Hatters-Friedman, who completed her residency training and forensic training at UH.

Carol L. Rosen, MD | Received the Physician of the Year award from the Narcolepsy Network. Dr. Rosen is Medical Director, Pediatric Sleep Services, in the Division of Pediatric Pulmonology and Sleep Medicine at UH Rainbow Babies & Children's Hospital. 


Keith B. Armitage, MD, FACP | Received the 2019 Association of Program Directors in Medicine (APDIM) Dema C. Daley Founders Award. The award honors a member of the internal medicine community who is recognized nationally as an educator, innovator and leader whose contributions have influenced areas of undergraduate and graduate medical education and the development of training programs in internal medicine, APDIM or other organizations that are educationally focused.

Robert Bonomo, MD | Designated as a Distinguished University Professor at Case Western Reserve University. It is the highest faculty honor for academic work. Dr. Bonomo is on the faculty of the UH Department of Medicine.

Philipp L. Dines, MD, PhD | Named a Lifetime Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association. He is Medical Director of the UH Geropsychiatry Division.

Sahera Dirajlal-Fargo, DO | Selected for the Hall Award for a Clinically Innovative Research Paper by a Junior Investigator. The award is given annually by the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Foundation. Dr. Dirajlal-Fargo is a pediatric infectious disease specialist at UH. The article that she wrote with colleagues was published in June in the Clinical Infectious Disease journal. The title was “Altered intestinal permeability and fungal translocation in Uganda children with HIV.”

Salim Hayek, MD, PhD | Chief of the Division of Pain Medicine at UH, awarded a Presidential Commendation from the American Academy of Pain Medicine. The award is in recognition of his leadership and contributions to neuromodulation and to the AAPM.

Jeffrey Nielson, MD | Director of Emergency Medicine at UH Samaritan Medical Center, received the American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) Leadership Award for developing and championing AMIA’s applied informatics recognition program.

Peter J. Pronovost, MD, PhD | UH Chief Clinical Transformation Officer named the 2019 recipient of the William B. Graham Prize for Health Services Research, given to the person whose research has had the largest impact on public health globally. The award was presented by The Baxter International Foundation and the Association of University Programs in Health Administration. Dr. Pronovost’s scientific work leveraging checklists to reduce catheter-related bloodstream infections has saved thousands of lives and earned him numerous high-profile accolades.

George H. Thompson, MD | Past Director of Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery at UH Rainbow Babies & Children’s Hospital, was one of only 31 inductees into the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America’s Hall of Fame at the 2019 annual meeting in Charlotte, NC. All inductees are previous Distinguished Achievement Award winners. This was the first class of inductees into POSNA’s Hall of Fame.


Lydia Furman, MD,
 | General academic pediatrician and Professor of Pediatrics at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine. Dr. Furman, a breast feeding expert, received the 2018 Section on Breast Feeding Best Abstract Award in Education, Quality Improvement, or Advocacy from the American Academy of Pediatrics Section on Breast Feeding.

Richard Martin, MD | Professor of pediatrics, reproductive biology, and physiology at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, and director of neonatal research programs and Drusinsky-Fanaroff Chair in Neonatology at University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center, recipient of the 2018 Mary Ellen Avery Neonatal Research Award. The award, bestowed by the American Pediatric Society and the Society for Pediatric Research, recognizes the lifetime achievements of a pediatric investigator who has made significant contributions to neonatal health through basic or translational research. It honors the contributions and memory of Mary Ellen Avery, MD, known for her life-saving translational research on the causes of neonatal respiratory distress syndrome.

Martha S. Wright, MD, MEd, FAAP | Pediatric Emergency Medicine physician at UH Rainbow Babies & Children's Hospital and Professor of Pediatrics at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, recently received the Steve Miller Award for Excellence in Education and Mentorship from the American Academy of Pediatrics Section on Emergency Medicine.  Dr. Wright is a member of the PediaLink editorial board.