Learn More about Careers in Health Care Through the Observation Program at UH Cleveland Medical Center

The Observation Program at University Hospitals is an opportunity for individuals who are interested in health care careers to shadow a hospital worker (sponsor) and learn more about the field. Applicants are required to complete an application, online compliance training, adhere to all health screening requirements and show proof of health care coverage. Upon confirmation of observation experience observers will be required to show proof of 2-Step TB screening within 6 months of experience and proof of COVID-19 Vaccination (Moderna, Pfizer, Johnson & Johnson.) Applicants are permitted to observe for 30 calendar days within a year.

Applications can only be processed through an Observation Coordinator. Please review the list below for an Observation Coordinator processing applications in the area you are interested in. The list is updated weekly. Observation Coordinators have the right to refuse an observation experience if it conflicts with department schedules or no one is available to coordinate the experience. Applications can be obtained from the Observation Coordinators.

If you are University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center employee wanting to observe, you do not need to complete this process. Please make arrangements with your manager and sponsor. If you are a University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center employee and are interested in becoming an Observation Coordinator for your area please complete the new GPS training course titled “Observation Training GM-38 Online”. Once completed and approved your name and email address will be added to the list above for Observers to contact.

Watch an overview of UH operating room observational protocol:

Observation Coordinators
Name Email Address Area of Interest
Ann Adair Ann.Adair@UHhospitals.org Post Anesthesia Care Unit
Lauren Allyn Lauren.Allyn@UHhospitals.org Radiation Oncology
Patricia Beam Patricia.Beam@UHhospitals.org Pediatric Nursing Staff Training (Only accepting career observers for Pediatric Nursing)
Gregory Benko Gregory.Benko@UHhospitals.org Physical Therapy (Mentor)
Lisa Berko Lisa.Berko@UHhospitals.org Outpatient Physical Therapist (Beachwood)
Lauren Bertagnolli Lauren.Bertagnolli@UHhospitals.org Physical Therapy (Green Road location only)
Denise Boateng Denise.Boateng@UHhospitals.org Pediatric Neurology
Danita Brantley Danita.Brantley@UHhospitals.org Pediatric Infectious Diseases
Kimberly Bright Kimberly.Bright@UHhospitals.org Neurology
Jason Brown Jason.Brown@UHhospitals.org Thoracic Surgery
Emily Campana Emily.Campana@UHhospitals.org Inpatient Occupational Therapy (UH Cleveland Medical Center)
Diane Charlton Diane.Charlton@UHhospitals.org Radiation Oncology (Mentor location)
Clinical Research Center clinical.research@uhhospitals.org This is strictly for observation. No research opportunities available. Observation purposes only for networking and interest-gauging.
Jillian Cofojohn Jillian.Cofojohn@UHhospitals.org Proton Therapy
Stephanie Cummings Stephanie.Cummings@UHhospitals.org Family Medicine (UH Cleveland Medical Center and Green Road locations only)
April Deters April.Deters@UHhospitals.org Radiation Oncology – Therapists
Kayla DeVan Kayla.Devan@UHhospitals.org Developmental/Behavioral Pediatrics and Psychology
Lee Anna Devinney-Boymel, CRNA Lee.Devinney-Boymel2@UHhospitals.org Anesthesia (Nurses interested in Anesthesia School)
Lisa DiNardo Lisa.DiNardo@UHhospitals.org Department of Surgery
Melissa Douglas Melissa.Douglas2@UHhospitals.org Adult Emergency Department
Chandra Drews clh36@case.edu Pediatric Dental (Only current DMD students interested in Pediatric Dentistry)
Dejalai Duke Dejalai.Duke@UHhospitals.org Radiation Oncology
Elena Dupont Elena.Dupont@UHhospitals.org Radiology
Rebecca Finney Rebecca.Finney@UHhospitals.org Pediatric Endocrinology
Jasmine Gardiner Jasmine.Gardiner@UHhospitals.org Bedford/Richmond
Kara Gorey Kara.Gorey@UHhospitals.org Physical Therapy (Westlake)
Michaela Guamani Michaela.Guamani@UHhospitals.org SICU
Bridget Miller Harper Bridget.MillerHarper@UHhospitals.org Radiology
Marie Hoyle marie.hoyle@uhhospitals.org Emergency Department
Yvonne Jenkins Yvonne.Williams2@UHhospitals.org Hematology/Oncology
Milvonna Jones Milvonna.Jones@UHhospitals.org Urology
Mario Jordan Mario.Jordan2@UHhospitals.org CICU
David Jordan David.Jordan@UHhospitals.org Radiation Safety Medical Imaging Physics
Beth Kaminski, MD Beth.Kaminski@UHhospitals.org Pediatric Endocrinology
Mary Ann Klein MaryAnn.Klein@UHhospitals.org Surgical Pathology
Sylvia Larkin Sylvia.Larkin@UHhospitals.org Mather Operating Room
Mary Legg Mary.Legg@UHhospitals.org Laboratory
Angeli Logan-Horhn Angeli.Logan-Horhn@UHhospitals.org Cleveland Heights Primary Care Physician
Lauren Lorber Lauren.Lorber@UHhospitals.org UH Cleveland Medical Center Pharmacy
Katie Mahoney Katie.Mahoney@UHhospitals.org Audiology Services
Katarzyna Mielnicki Katarzyna.Mielnicki@UHhospitals.org Solon Urgent Care
Raymond Musarra Raymond.Musarra@UHhospitals.org Adult Echo Lab
Allene Naples Allene.Naples@UHhospitals.org Specialty Pharmacy Administration
Natalie Niese Natalie.Niese@UHhospitals.org Medical Surgical
Helen Novotney Helen.Novotney@UHhospitals.org Pediatric Cardiothoracic Surgery
Bridget Patrick Bridget.Patrick@UHhospitals.org Department of Surgery
Melissa Pece Melissa.Pece@UHhospitals.org Post Transplant Kidney
Sarah Phillips Sarah.Phillips@UHhospitals.org Nursing Professional Development Specialist
Michele Post Michele.Post@UHhospitals.org Epilepsy
Kama Pradia Kama.Pradia@UHhospitals.org Pediatric Cardiology
Rachel Rabenn Rachel.Rabenn@UHhospitals.org Department of Genetics
Jared Rice Jared.Rice@UHhospitals.org Operative Services
Lynn Schura Lynn.Schura@UHhospitals.org Surgery (UHC Suburban)
Matthew Shaylor Matthew.Shaylor@UHhospitals.org Ahuja OR
Tameeka Simington Tameeka.Simington@UHhospitals.org Pediatric Respiratory
Katherine Slain Katherine.Slain@UHhospitals.org Pediatric Critical Care Medicine
Kimberly Smith Kimberly.Smith@UHhospitals.org Respiratory Therapy (Ravenna)
Loretta Spencer Loretta Spencer@UHhospitals.org Inpatient Physical Therapy (UH Cleveland Medical Center)
Courtney Speziale MSN, RN Courtney.Speziale@UHhospitals.org Mather and MOSC Operating Rooms
Christopher Superior Christopher.Superior@UHhospitals.org Finance
Tina Thomas Tina.Thomas@UHhospitals.org Pain Management Dept. & Anesthesiology
Marlene Tripp Marlene.Tripp@UHhospitals.org Primary Care Physician (Cleveland Heights)
Miranda Urbaniak Miranda.Urbaniak@UHhospitals.org UHC Wound Care
Nadia Vincenti Nadia.Vincenti@UHHospitals.org Finance Department
Patrice Walker Patrice.Walker@UHhospitals.org Home Care (Richmond)
Tracey Wallace Tracey.Wallace@UHhospitals.org Pediatric Sports Medicine (Solon)
LaKeiva Williams Lakeiva.Williams@UHhospitals.org Internal/Family Medicine (Otis Moss)
Kayla Wolf Kayla.Wolf2@UHhospitals.org Medical ICU & AHFICU (Nursing/NP)
Gulgun Yalcinkaya Gulgun.Yalcinkaya@UHhospitals.org Neonatology
Geri Zaremba Geri.Zaremba@UHhospitals.org Emergency Department (PEDS) (Nursing only)
som-registrar@case.edu Case Western Reserve University Medical Students (only accepting CWRU medical students within the School of Medicine, no undergraduates or pre-med students)