Accelerating Breakthrough Discoveries into Medicines

Scientific Advisory Board

The Harrington Discovery Institute Scientific Advisory Board brings together some of the nation’s most accomplished medical innovators. Under the leadership of Jonathan Stamler, MD, President of the Harrington Discovery Institute at University Hospitals in Cleveland, Ohio, the Scientific Advisory Board members review proposals for the Harrington Discovery Institute’s Scholar-Innovator Award and select Awardees based on quality of science, innovation, and potential for impact.  The Scientific Advisory Board also partners with the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) leadership to select the winner of the Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine.

Jonathan Stamler, MD – President of Harrington Discovery Institute and the Distinguished Chair in Cardiovascular Innovation at UH Cleveland Medical Center and Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine

David Ginsburg, MD – Distinguished University Professor of Internal Medicine and Human Genetics; University of Michigan Medical School; Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator

William G. Kaelin, Jr., MD – Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; Senior Physician, Medicine, Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Beth Levine, MD – Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Professor, Internal Medicine and Microbiology; Charles Cameron Sprague Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science; UT Southwestern Medical Center

Andrew R. Marks, MD – Chairman, Department of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics, Columbia University Medical Center; Founding Director, Wu Center for Molecular Cardiology

Charles Sawyers, MD – Chairman, Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program, Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator

Solomon H. Snyder MD, DSc, D.Phil. – Distinguished Service Professor of Neuroscience, Pharmacology and Psychiatry, The Johns Hopkins University

Michael Welsh, MD – Director, Pappajohn Biomedical Institute and the University of Iowa Cystic Fibrosis Research Center; Roy J. Carver Chair in Biomedical Research; Professor of Internal Medicine, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, and Neurosurgery, University of Iowa; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute