Accelerating Breakthrough Discoveries into Medicines

Robert Lipper, PhD

Robert Lipper, PhD

Robert A. Lipper, PhD retired from Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. in 2008 as Vice President, Biopharmaceutics Research and Development to establish Back Cove Pharma LLC, a consulting business focusing on pharmaceutical development and education services, with a special emphasis on solving early development challenges with small molecule drug candidates.

His career with Bristol-Myers Squibb spanned 24 years, and he has more than 30 years’ total experience in the research-based pharmaceutical industry. While at Bristol-Meyers Squibb, Dr. Lipper was responsible for pharmaceutics research and development, exploratory biopharmaceutics, drug delivery and drug product process and package development. He also has extensive experience in managing clinical supply operations (manufacture, packaging, labeling and distribution of clinical trial supplies).

Dr. Lipper began his industrial career with Pfizer Central Research, Groton, CT, where he was primarily involved with liquid and sterile product development for human and veterinary pharmaceutical products. He joined Bristol-Myers Co. in 1983 and was promoted to Vice President in 1990, shortly after the merger between Bristol-Myers and Squibb. He served on the board of directors of PQRI from 2001 to 2008, serving as chairman for the final three years.

Dr. Lipper received his bachelor’s degree in pharmacy with Highest Distinction from Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, where he was elected to Phi Beta Kappa. He earned his doctorate in pharmaceutical chemistry at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, under the guidance of William I. Higuchi, PhD.

He is a member of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists and the Parenteral Drug Association. He serves on the Dean’s Industrial Advisory Council for the Purdue University School of Pharmacy and the Dean’s Advisory Committee for the University of Michigan College of Pharmacy. He is on the editorial advisory board of the Journal of Pharmaceutical Innovation. He served on the board of directors of PQRI 2001-2008 (chairman 2005-2008).